Skip to content

Dear Ms. Robach

August 25, 2014

An important letter to Amy Robach, from someone living with breast cancer.

regrounding

An open letter to Good Morning America News Anchor and breast cancer “survivor,” 

Ms. Amy Robach

 

Dear Ms. Robach,

What a journey you have had recently. From what I read in the press, save the persistent chemobrain, you are feeling well. Congratulations! I am quite familiar with the challenges of treatment and surgery, and getting back to everyday life. It looks like nothing can hold you back!

It ends up we have quite a bit in common.

  • Like you, I was diagnosed young and on my first mammogram, when I was 35 years old.
  • Like you, I opted for bilateral mastectomy in hopes that my lobular disease might not occur in the healthy breast also. (You know, of course, that bilateral disease is most common in lobular breast cancer, which is what I have.)
  • Like you I underwent chemotherapy and tamoxifen (5 years was the standard back then).
  • Like you, chemobrain persists.

View original post 1,657 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

