Skip to content

Pancreatic Cancer Action Campaign: I Wish I Had Breast Cancer

February 6, 2014

New pancreatic cancer awareness campaign believes some cancers are better than others?

ihatebreastcancer

Congratulations, Pancreatic Cancer Action.

Your brilliant marketing plan is working. It was a stroke of genius to have Tube ads and YouTube videos of people saying “I wish I had testicular cancer” and “I wish I had breast cancer.”

The UK-based  Pancreatic Cancer Action’s Ali Stunt  was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer age 41 in 2007.  Upon learning the disease has a 3% chance of survival and an average life expectancy of just months, she found herself  wishing she had  a cancer with a  better chance of survival. “In fact the cancer I personally wished I had was breast,” Stunt writes. “[My friend with breast cancer] was telling me how grueling her treatment was and how difficult it was to cope with the diagnosis. While I was sympathetic…I couldn’t help but think every now and then, ‘it’s alright for you, you have an 85% chance that you will…

View original post 690 more words

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. I think I understand the intent of that campaign, but the execution could have been better. That said, some cancers are “better” than others. I’m unluckier than most in that I had testicular cancer in both testicles (statically rare; I feel so exceptional). But, it was caught earlier and the treatment stopped the cancer dead in it’s tracks. I no longer have testicles, but I’m alive.

Leave a Reply

